Behind the Scenes Of Sade’s “Soldier Of Love” Recording



A rare behind the scenes look at Sade, during the recording of her soon to be released “Soldier Of Love”.  For me to see a recent video of Sade, relaxed and being herself is unreal.  To hear her voice, was the first thing that threw me.  Her voice is a lot deeper than I imagined.  Then to see her working on that orange iBook was the icing. A musical superstar being a Mac user, but using a 10 year old laptop.  Priceless.  Enjoy.

Sade’s “Soldier Of Love” Tracklisting



Just a quick update.  The track listing for Sade’s album was leaked  I don’t know how, or if its a big deal.  I do know that I need that CD in my hand now.  Why make use wait?  We’ve waited for 9 years.  Anyway, we have two weeks till the day.  While you wait, check out some Sade compilations.

1. The Moon And The Sky
2. Soldier Of Love
3. Morning Bird
4. Baby Father
5. Long Hard Road
6. Be That Easy
7. Bring Me Home
8. In Another Time
9. Skin
10. The Safest Place

Res Proves Black.Girls.Rock!



Res has made this week very lovely.  First she drops a previously unreleased album “Black.Girls.Rock!” along with a great digital booklet.  The artwork for the album and digital booklet is unsurpassed.  Plus you receive free from the artist a full album, and booklet, which would normally be a special edition. That is a love for the fans. Her last release was “How Do I” from 2001, which was a great album.

Video Bonus: There’s No Way


Idle Wasship


Now if the free album wasn’t enough, she has a collaboration with Talib Kweli and Graph Noble. The group is called Idle Warship. They have released “Party Robot Mixtape“.  The album was mix by Mick Boogie.  I am just learning about this group myself, so sample it, and tell me what you think.

Random News Update 10/19/09

I figured out that I can’t do a full post on every little tidbit of info.  So, I’ll do these news updates to keep you abreast of the minutiae of Soul music.  Here we go.

Melanie Fiona TheBridge

Melanie Fiona has her album “The Bridge” arriving tomorrow (Tuesday October 20th, 2009) on iTunes, and the kicker is that it’s only $5.99.  At that price you have no excuse but to listen. For a sample of her music, check out the mixtape from “The Bridge”.


For the Maxwell lovers out there.  A 2nd batch of “Bad Habits” remixes are being released soon.  A 2nd batch?  Yup, the first batch was released back in September, titled “Bad Habits (The Unadulterated Remix Box)“.  To sample the 2nd batch head over to Pro Motion. I’m still looking on where to find them to purchase or download. Below are the tracks of the first set of remixes.

1. Bad Habits (Harlan Pepper & AG III Club Remix) 8:10
2. Bad Habits (Karmatronic Club Remix) 6:02
3. Bad Habits (Mark Alston Club Remix) 8:03
4. Bad Habits (Harlan Pepper & AG III Dub Remix) 8:06
5. Bad Habits (Karmatronic Dub) 6:02
6. Bad Habits ( Mark Alston Dub) 7:19
7. Bad Habits (Harlan Pepper & AG III Radio Edit) 4:56
8. Bad Habits (Karmatronic Radio Edit) 3:34
9. Bad Habits (Mark Alston Radio Edit) 4:42

Bad Habits (The Unadulterated Remix Box) Download

Hidden Beach Unwrapped Vol 6

Hidden Beach has released their sixth volume of the Unwrapped series, titled “Give the Drummer some!”.  It features Tony Royster, Jr among others.  To celebrate this release, they are giving away free for download the Unwrapped Mixtape. You can get it here.


I know this isn’t Soul related, but it’s well worth mentioning.  Everyone know about Jay-Z’s recent “The Blueprint 3” release.  Well… Alex Goose was on of the people to submit beats to be featured on Jay-Z’s album.  None of his beats made the cut, but that doesn’t mean that they aren’t fiyah. :)  he has posted those beats to the public via  Take a listen for something  different. Plus you can’t beat anything that is free.

Khulami Phase, Lauryn Hill’s Unreleased album?

Lauryn Hill

Ok, This really isn’t an album. It’s collection of songs that, many I haven’t heard. Some may be from that album that was never released in 2004, but we have no way of knowing. If you’re asking about that cover art, it was created by GlueKit, by the request of Vibe Magazine for an article. The article was about 51 Albums that never Were. So, what’s the history behind the Khulami Phase album?  All I know is that, she was working on it during 2004, and to be released in December of that year.  That is also the same time that they spoke of a Fugee Reunion.  I’m stilling hoping for a 3rd labum to be released by Ms. Lauryn, and a Fugee’s Reunion.  You can download the album here. Enjoy. Continue reading “Khulami Phase, Lauryn Hill’s Unreleased album?” »